Celebrating Prophet T.B. Joshua At 48

Here is an article from Tiko Emmanuel Okoye of the Daily Independent, Nigeria, who shares his experience of meeting Prophet T.B. Joshua, celebrating his life as he is about to turn 48 on June 12th 2011.

My most accomplished Christian mentor is wont to say that men come in sizes and live their lives in phases. There is no way you can come under his tutelage without becoming a voracious reader – especially of biographies. He posits that since the secrets of men are in their stories, reading the ‘his story’ of a successful person makes you literally stand on his shoulders to grow without sweating into your next bigger size and see into the next higher phase.

One Nigerian whose ‘his story’ keeps fascinating me is Pastor Temitope Balogun Joshua a.k.a. Prophet T.B. Joshua or ‘The man at the Synagogue.’ Born on June 12 (as in MKO!), 1963, in Arigidi, Osun State, to typical poverty-stricken parents, T.B. Joshua was a school dropout who engaged in several menial jobs to help support the family and keep body and soul together. Today, he is a Christian minister with global name recognition. His world-class television outreach ministry, Emmanuel TV, and Web-based Streaming Faith portal beam activities and services conducted at his Synagogue Church of All Nations (SCOAN) to a global audience. His great works of charity, undertaken through Another Ministry, the humanitarian arm of his octopus organization, and promotion of youth sports clubs, have positively projected Nigeria’s image abroad and touched millions of lives.

His success has not come without attendant controversies. Quite regrettably, there are still many Pharisees among us who prefer to seek the man in god rather than the God in man! But just as Jesus was not deterred by those who accused him of performing miracles under the aegis of Beelzebub, “the chief ruler of demons,” T.B. Joshua has refused to allow a well-orchestrated character assassination to undermine his vision and purpose.

T.B. Joshua

T.B. Joshua will turn 48 on June 12th 2011

He has admirably exhibited the pinpoint focus of a champion athlete, ever mindful of the fact that in order to win an important race one must not allow one’s self to be distracted by hecklers and red herrings in a packed grandstand. The admonishments of Jesus to his disciples, when they banned a preacher for “not belonging to our group” (Luke 9:49-50), and of Moses to Joshua and his ‘fellowship council,’ when they urged him to query God for bestowing the gift of prophesy on two ‘disobedient vagabonds’ (Numbers 11:24-29) are very germane to honest soul-searching on the part of those concerned.

The first and only time I visited his office at Ikotun-Egbe, a suburb of Lagos, I asked the young man at the ‘front desk’ to inform the prophet that I wanted to see him. I was momentarily lost for words when he announced that “I’m the one you seek”! You cannot blame me; I least expected to see a casually-dressed, world-famous faith healer like T.B. Joshua, who I easily recognized after he had spoken, in such a tiny office. Such humility is very rare among other movers and shakers in his class. At the end of the visit, he gave me an electronic bible as a parting gift. The convenience it afforded me made the bible my ever-constant traveling companion.

During one of my frequent trips to the South-East, I forgot a handbag containing the electronic bible and a wallet stuffed with thousands of naira in a commercial vehicle. As a pall of despondency and great dread threatened to envelop me, I said a prayer: “God of heavens, if T.B. Joshua who gave me the electronic bible is indeed your prophet and servant, then let it be a point of contact for the full recovery of my valuables.”

The next day, while I was asking around for the offices of the Road Transport Workers Union at Nkpor motor-park – my disembarkation point – an okada came to a screeching stop at the place where I was discussing with a group of drivers. The out-of-breath rider identified me as the passenger that forgot a handbag in his vehicle! He further disclosed that he was not supposed to be at the motor-park that very day because his vehicle was undergoing maintenance service, but that ‘a force’ had compelled him to ‘rush’ the handbag straightaway to the park!

My very tight job schedules – as a Visiting Member of the Editorial Board of Daily Independent newspaper and President-General of my town – made it impossible for me to attend his 47th birthday anniversary celebrations. But I am very determined to procure a return ticket from Anambra State to attend this year’s, as well as grace the Sunday service as a first-timer. Meanwhile, I heartily congratulate a great achiever, frontline philanthropist, televangelist extraordinaire, anointed exponent of the Scriptures and God’s servant, on his 48th birthday anniversary!

SOURCE: All Africa, Daily Independent

5 Comments

Filed under Biography

5 responses to “Celebrating Prophet T.B. Joshua At 48

  1. Moise Banda

    Happie b_dae Senior Prophet T.B Joshua and i believe by his grace you will attend his anniversaire.God bless you as you are planning to attend the anniversaire.

  2. PFC

    Emmanuel – God with us
    Happy birthday Snr Prophet T B Joshua. I wish you many more years to come. May the good Lord Jesus Christ give you more grace and power to execute your duties, which your were called by God Almighty to do.

  3. Gogaisamang Mompati

    Happy Birthday man of God..May the Lord give you more and more years to live on his earth so that you continue the assignment he gave you on this earth…Its realy a pleasure to have somebody in this earth changing nations, changing the world and changing lives. May our Lord Jesus Christ give you many more to help this troubled world. With Jesus the impossible are possible..Happy Birthday Prophet T.B Joshua

  4. chrissiezoe Stocker

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY SENIOR PROPHET TB JOSHUA,

    I’ve seen the hand of God in few days that I’ve just come in contact with you.
    First of all you are my father and Dad, on this earth .
    Dad I will follow you even as you follow after Christ.
    Dad Pastor , I know that uncountable Billions of people they are all sending their best and good wishes to you because you are a divine carrier of God’s anointing.

    On this special day I want to thank you also from my heart and say that your faith inspires me and your results amaze me.
    At aministry level, I celebrate your courage and greatness.
    You have redifined excellence by your ever increasing results in life and ministry.
    You have revolutionized our generation with your faith in Christ Jesus & the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ who is the blessed and only the kings of kings and Lords of Lords.

    Man of God, you are indeed a blessing and a rare gift to our world. I must say that I feel sorry for those who misunderstood you and what you represent but your faith makes me while you don’t know that for the now in this world you are the only son who pleases God’s heart as Elijah etc no one can do the way how you do. Cheer up, God is with you forever.

    This is a great privilege also to pray for you, Prophet TB Joshua, today and always, I pray that your life will continuously be the story of God’s grace. I pray that the anointing of God’s Spirit that is beyond human description will continually rest upon and cause you to move from glory to glory. I pray that you will continually find favour before the son of God Jesus Christ who is your only mentor and coach and your everything in all that you do. I pray that the great work under your anointed leadership and churches of God under your divine care will experience endlessly growth in the whole world (Scoan) and influence in every area of ministry. For thine is the brain and the beauty and the glory forever till rapture, Amen.

    Your daughter in Christ,
    Chrissiezoe.

    Have a precious and joyous Birthday Prophet TB Joshua.

  5. Efrem

    Happy birth day prophet T.b Joshua !!

Leave a Reply

